Dreaming of Boston

Posted: November 28, 2010 in Uncategorized

Ran 10 miles this morning on an extremely hilly course.  Average pace was 7:30 with an average heart rate of 143 bpm.  Running in North Grafton is so amazing with all the open space and stone walls.

I thought a lot about the new training season and the upcoming Boston Marathon.  We have our kick-off on Tuesday evening at the Museum of Science and our training starts next Saturday.  I am looking forward to meeting all the new runners and learning about their aspirations.  I also have my own aspirations for the upcoming marathon.

It is hard to believe that 2011 represents the 5th consecutive decade that I will have run Boston!  Running marathons is so much more than simply running for a time or ‘just to finish.’ I am inspired by so many people and things that I want the 2011 Boston Marathon to be so special.  I thought about one individual in particular during my run that I would like to dedicate my Boston effort to.  He is a survivor in the truest sense.  Someone that has been deprived of so much but continues to be such a positive and powerful force.  I plan to write him a letter to express my interest in running for him.

Another aspiration I have is to make the Boston Marathon experience so meaningful for the 100+ runners I’ll have on the Marathon Coalition TEAM.  I feel honored to be coaching for 7 education-based charities.  Imagining all the great work that will result from all the fundraising efforts of our collective TEAM will provide more than ample motivation and inspiration to make this marathon traning season the best ever!

Staying relaxed and focused in the latter miles!

Leave a Reply

