Training is Underway

Posted: December 4, 2010 in Uncategorized

Today was the first day of training for the Marathon Coalition TEAM.  We ran nearly 5 miles on the hills of Newton.  Our training location is right at mile 20 of the Boston Marathon and in the heart of the hills. 

I need to explore the area more so that we have training options away from the hills.  I focused on the importance of running form and efficiency.  I was pleasantly surprised by how many runners already have such a smooth and efficient stride.  The challenge will be to sustain their form throughout their runs, particularly once they become tired.  It was nice to run by and touch the Johnny Kelley statue on Commonwealth Avenue.  It has always been a source of inspiration for me  and I am hoping that the runners will feel similarly. 

Next week I will have Dr. Grayson Kimball speak to the TEAM about the mental aspect of training.  Dr. Kimball received his Ph.D. in Sports Psychology from Springfield College.  He also helped me coach the Boston Marathon TEAM for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society during my last year with TNT.  I know the TEAM will benefit greatly from his advice and immediately connect with him.

I wore the Nike Zoom Air today.  I’ve become so accustomed to the minimalist genre of shoes so having excessive cushioning definitely wreaked havoc on my legs.  I look forward to returning to the K-Swiss Blade for tomorrow’s long run with Lori. 

I have a lot of work to do before the Phoenix Rock n’ Roll marathon next month.  I’m trying to focus on cleaning up my diet.  We are having friends over for dinner this evening and I stopped at Whole Foods on the drive home from training and bought a HUGE carrot cake for Lori’s birthday.  We’ll see how disciplined I can be.  I would rather forego a few minutes of guilty pleasure and not have to pay such a high price for my indulgence.

The majority of the runners I am coaching will be running Boston as their first marathon.  I will teach them about managing this challenging course and help them to develop a strategy they’ll be comfortable with on April 18th.  We have a lot of work ahead of us but I’m confident every one of them will finish.  I have an impressive group of young and fit runners that I know will qualify next April. 

I look forward to having more runners attend training next week.  I know the runners that attend training get far more out of this journey than those that don’t.  I also know that if someone doesn’t attend training during the first 3 weeks they are likely not to attend training at all…that would be a travesty.  

Tomorrow I will focus on my most important workout of the week….180 steps per minute, smooth transitions from walking to running, fueling and hydrating properly, relaxed breathing and form, running quietly, and maintaing a sharp mental focus so that I begin to believe I can accomplish my goal in Boston!

Leave a Reply

