Early Morning Date

Posted: December 12, 2010 in Uncategorized

Sunday is my favorite day of the week.  Time seems to slow down somewhat and I am afforded the luxury of spending more time with Lori, Rider, and Macie.  It’s the time that Lori and I have our weekly date in the form of a long run.

It’s wonderful to have several hours with just Lori catching up on all the news of the past week and our plans for the upcoming week while running together.  Dinner and a movie are also always nice but nothing is better than running together.  Lori has gotten into such great shape that I sometimes fail the ‘talk test’ when I’m reduced to single word answers. 

We had a wonderful evening last evening attending a holiday party in Arlington at the beautiful home of Dawn and Greg.  We trained them for several Boston marathons and now they have both completed numerous Ironman competitions (i.e., 2.4 mile swim, 112 mile bike, followed by a 26.2 mile run).  Impressive!  The house was full of athletes…I love being around others that place such a high value on their health, their families and friends, and living life to the fullest.

I travel the country so much and see more and more people that lack self-control and poison themselves with food, alcohol, and smoking.  I would welcome a much smaller world filled with people like we shared the evening with.

It’s cold and sleeting but I cannot wait to begin our run in just a few minutes.  I know we’ll push one another beyond our comfort zone and I welcome the challenge.  I also welcome the alone time that I’ll share with the person that has given so much to me and continues to inspire me to accomplish more and more. 

I hope that your day holds as much promise and that you are able to share it with the people that mean the most to you.  I feel blessed that I continue to be so enthusiastic about my running after 35 years.  Coaching the Marathon Coalition runners is instrumental in my enthusiasism.  I love to teach and feel so invigorated by their questions and desire to learn…their desire to make such a huge difference in the world and the lives of others!

Their example inspires me to be a better runner, a better coach….a better person!

Update…

Lori and I just returned from an amazing 13 mile run.  It rained the entire time and the footing was treacherous at times.  We ran an extremely hilly course so the sense of accomplishment is considerable.  I felt great during the entire run even after running hard with several of the young guns through the Newton hills yesterday.

We returned and discovered that Macie Jo and Rider had spent the entire time doing chores that we hadn’t even mentioned to them.  Now that is a great feeling, particularly after just an incredible run.

Now it’s time for Lori’s secret oatmeal concoction, a hot shower, and a relaxing afternoon.  I’ll be posting specific information this week on the Boston marathon course and proper fueling before, during, and after a run.

Leave a Reply

