Sales Meeting Blues

Posted: January 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

The sales meeting that I’m currently attending has thrown a complete wrench into my week of training.  The biggest challenge has been receiving sufficient rest followed closely by eating well.  It’s frightening to observe the eating habits of the average American.  It’s not too difficult to understand the pervasiveness of obesity in our country. 

Each morning I feel exhausted after only receiving 5 hours of sleep.  I am the vice president of sales so I have to spend time preparing for presentations throughout the day followed by an evening of social activities.  I manage all the salespeople so I’m interacting with them continuously throughout the day on various topics, mostly to help them solve issues and problems within their territory.

Traveling during the academic year is very similar.  The hardest part of my job is being away from my family.  Rider and Macie are growing up so fast and that process seems exacerbated by my absence.  I fear they’ll grow up feeling they know me less or that I just wasn’t there for them.   Thankfully Lori does such a fantastic job in her role as CEO of Home Sweet Home!

Balancing all the responsibilities in my life is as challenging as training for the marathon.  Nothing is better than feeling I’m in a rhythm and that I am managing everything in my life.  Nothing is more discouraging than feeling I’ve lost complete control of so many facets of my life in just a few short days . 

I’m so determined to get back on track as soon as this meeting concludes.  I hope that your week is filled with rest, healthy eating and great runs!

Comments
  1. Cheryl says:

    Take heart, Rick. My husband has to travel a lot for his business. And, although not as much now, when my kids were really young he was often away for 1-2 weeks at a time. As they got older, however, they saw him as the cool one who did these cool things and they can’t wait to be around him, because, frankly, they are somewhat bored with mom!!! (Sorry, Lori): I don’t mind, though, I did my time and am happy to hand them over every so often! Don’t kill yourself over it, because they know you are there, and you make the most of the time with them, as my husband has done. Kids are amazing! They don’t overthink things, because they are so in the present!!! They just love that you love being with them.

  2. Hello Cheryl,

    Thank you so much for your response. You put everything into such a reassuring perspective. I was able to speak with Macie Jo briefly before I left for dinner and it was the highlight of my day…she was worried about finding her ski boots and it clearly didn’t bother her that I wasn’t there. Thanks again for your insight!

    Your Coach,

    Rick

Leave a Reply

