Return To Normalcy

Posted: January 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

I am so grateful today is the final day of our sales meeting.  It’s been similar to a family reunion in that we were so excited to see one another on the first day but we’re all ready to say goodbye.

I am looking forward to returning to my normal routine.  The Marathon Coalition TEAM will be running 10 miles tomorrow in the hills of Newton.  It should be an interesting run for me since I haven’t run since last Sunday.

I will be evaluating the fit and wear pattern of everyone’s shoes tomorrow.  I’m always surprised by the number of runners that have ill-fitting or the wrong shoes.  Runner’s tend to wear their shoes too small.  The best rule of thumb is to allow for a thumb’s width of room between the end of the longest toe and the end of the shoe.  There’s a lot of inconsistency in sizing among the manufacturers so focus more on how the shoes fit rather than the size listed on the box.  It’s always better to get fitted after a run or later in the day because your feet will literally expand by the end of a run or the conclusion of the day.

I look forward to being with all the runners and getting re-engaged with their training.  We won’t be having training next Saturday (January 15th) because I’ll be in Phoenix with several of my family members from Indianapolis.  We’re all renting BMW motorcycles and spending 3 days riding.  On Saturday evening we’re going to the Phoenix Supercross and seeing the best dirt bike riders in the world compete indoors.  On Sunday I’ll be running the Rock n’ Roll half or full marathon, depending on how I feel.

I certainly don’t feel like I’m capable of improving my Boston Marathon qualifying time so I suspect I’ll run the half.  Thankfully I won’t have to make that decision until I’m well into the race and able to determine what my best choice will be.

But now I’m just looking forward to returning home this evening and being with my family!

Leave a Reply

