Great To Be Home And Back With the TEAM!

Posted: January 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

Lori and I ran 10 miles with the Marathon Coalition TEAM this morning.  It was so nice to have her join us for the first time this training season.  I certainly hope she’s able to join us more often but it’s challenging with the busy lives of Rider and Macie Jo.  It’s equally challenging finding a high school babysitter that’s willing and capable of arriving at 6:30 a.m.  Ashley has been our babysitter for all of running dates so she’s accustomed to our lifestyle.  She mentioned that NONE of her friends babysit for couples that go running together.

The roads and sidewalks were covered in snow so those conditions made running more challenging.  I felt like I had run far more than 10 miles afterwards.  In the final miles I began thinking about having my chocolate milk and oatmeal afterwards so that helped to sustain my pace!

However, I was so tired that I fell asleep within 15 minutes of returning home.  I slept soundly for two hours and awoke to the Breaking News that Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords (D-Arizona) had been shot at point-blank range in Tucson, Arizona during a regularly scheduled Meet and Greet with her constituents; an absolute tragedy.  Lori also lost her college roommate this week after a courageous battle with breast cancer.  Her daughter is in her final semester of high school.  Events of this nature certainly serve as a reminder of the importance of enjoying every moment of life and to express our love to all those that we love!

 The highlight of today’s training  was having one of my runner’s from the 2010 Boston Marathon join us.  She shared with me a gift that her mother provided recently.  Samantha kept an amazing blog during her training and her mother had it perfect-bound into a desktop view book…what an amazing chronicle.  I was so touched by the following:

“Dedicated to my inspirational coach, Rick Muhr.”

I posted the following message on Sammy’s blog and it was also contained with the aforementioned message:

“It is an absolute pleasure coaching you.  In 14 years of marathon coaching, you’re near the top of the most coachable list.  I love your amazing enthusiasm, your constanct smile, and the life in your eyes that can fill the world!  The marathon will impact your life forever and you’ll be a better person as a result of this effort.  It’s been an honor being your coach!”

One of the many benefits of being a running coach for the Boston Marathon is sustaining friendships that I develop with the runners.  Their spirt sustains my effort to be a better coach…a better person!

 

Comments
  1. Sad thing in Arizona.
    Lack of sleep and running don’t mix well togheter. Take the rest.

  2. I hope that Congresswoman Giffords wins the fight for her life! I’m feeling well rested after today’s nap and looking forward to a 13 mile run tomorrow.

  3. Paula says:

    Coach Rick, I wish I could get there more on Saturdays but my schedule doesnt allow it… However, having a really good friend that you love running with helps big time! I hope I can bring my running kicks next time to get some of your expert advice.

  4. Hello Paula,

    Thank you for your message and for following my blog. I look forward to seeing you at training when you’re able to attend. I’m planning to have a ‘Bring A Friend To Training’ soon so you’ll be able to bring your running partner(s) to train with the Marathon Coalition TEAM.

    Coach Rick

    • Paula says:

      My running partner is on the coalition team!!!! Luckily we bothh live close enough to run together. PS. Im the one that asked you about the golfball on my knee New Years Day… (Lite Blue Nike Lunarlites.) Love these for training have about 10 pairs. Hmmm interested in what you think of the Lunar Trainer?

  5. Hello Paula,

    My understanding is that the Nike Lunar Trainer is being discontinued. It sounds like the Lunarlites are working well for you, though. I’ll look forward to looking at the pair of Lunarlites that have the most miles on them if you’re able to attend training on January 22nd.

    Rick

Leave a Reply

