Marathon Excitement

Posted: January 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

The weather in Phoenix the past several days has been absolutely beautiful; mid-seventies and clear skies.  I was very fortunate to be on one of the last flights out of Baltimore late Tuesday afternoon.  We sat on the tarmac for nearly an hour having the ice removed from the plane.

I spent yesterday riding motorcycles with my sister, brother-in-law and niece.  We rented bikes from 3 different locations so, once we completed all 3 transactions, we were soon underway and headed for Tortilla Flat outside of Phoenix.  The scenery was spectacular as we rode through the mountains on some of the most amazing roads I’ve ever ridden.  It was wonderful to spend time with some of my family and observe their excitement of seeing this area for the first time.  The BMW I rode performed flawlessly as I pushed the pace through the most challenging mountain switchbacks.  I love blowing by the Harley Bad Boys as though they were sitting still.  Loud pipes and tattoos don’t improve one’s riding ability.

Now I have to finally start focusing on the marathon.  I’m going to the expo this morning to get my number and review the course and other details for Sunday.  I really have mixed emotions about running the Rock n’ Roll marathon.  I dont feel fully prepared since I don’t have a solid base of mileage to draw on but I’m extremely excited about the challenge of covering 26.2 miles again. 

I haven’t mentioned this to my sister yet but I’m going to run to honor her courageous battle with breast cancer.  She was diagnosed a few years after we lost our mother to leukemia.  Thankfully she recently received a clean bill of health.  It’s a blessing to have her as my big sister.  I love the emotion and passion she has, particularly for her children and grandchildren.  It’s interesting that she has 7 grandchildren at 56 and I have a 4 year old at 52.  We’ve certainly taken different paths in life but are so similar in many ways.  It will be an honor to run with her spirit on Sunday.

My sister Donna with me last July

I love the fear and respect that I feel for the marathon.  The possibility of failure is so exhilarating.  I’ve always pursued testing my limits on so many levels and this Sunday will be no different.  It’s exciting to face a major test and to explore my physical and emotional limits.

I cannot imagine how emotional I will feel when I see my big sister at the finish line on Sunday…it will be a complete honor to run this one for her!

In Honor Of My Sister Donna

Comments
  1. Paula says:

    Best of luck Coach! Cant wait to hear how it goes!

  2. Samantha says:

    Go get em Rick! You’re so right about the possibility of failure–that’s DEFINITELY how I felt about Boston. Run smart 🙂

  3. Donna says:

    Good Luck!! Have a wonderful time.

Leave a Reply

