Marathon Countdown

Posted: January 15, 2011 in Uncategorized

It’s 6:30 a.m. in Scottsdale and I’ve been awake for nearly two hours.  I’m sitting outside waiting for my family members to wake up so we can return the motorcycles and visit Whole Foods.  This doesn’t bode well for tomorrow because we’ll need to be in Phoenix by this time and we have a late night planned.

Yesterday was another extremely long and adventurous motorcycling day.  The scenery in southern Arizona is simply breathtaking.  It was very difficult navigating the last two hours, particularly as I approached Phoenix and Scottsdale, as I have a tinted shield on my helmet which makes it extremely difficult to see.  I love not having a GPS and figuring out the directions back to the hotel.

Last night was my most important night of sleep and it was perfect!  I enjoy the days prior to the marathon as I go through my mental checklist and organize everything that I will need tomorrow.  There will be tens of thousands of runners tomorrow so my family will be getting several ‘crazy’ helium balloons today so that I can easily see them as I approach.  One lesson that I’ve learned is that, despite the most strategic plans with respect to meeting friends and family, it’s important not to count on them being there.  Logistics and traffic can me a nightmare on Marathon Day and it’s important to manage disappointment if they’re not where you expect them.  It’s better to treat it as a bonus if you see them.

This afternoon we’re going to the Supercross race in Phoenix and the main event won’t begin until after 9:00 p.m. but I’ve had some of my best races on little sleep.  I always focus on getting a restful night of sleep two nights before the event.

I won’t post again until after the marathon tomorrow!  I love the Marathon Countdown and all that it entails…..it’s so exciting!

Leave a Reply

