Return To Running

Posted: January 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

It has been four days since Sunday’s Rock n’ Roll Marathon and I have absolutely no soreness remaining in my legs…that’s very encouraging.  What has concerned me is the pain I’ve had in my left Achilles since June when I returned from my 5,000 mile motorcycle journey.  Keeping up foot in the same position while riding 8-12 hours each day wreaked havoc on my Achilles and I likely developed some tendonitis.  I’ve struggled with it for 6 months.  It was excruciating the morning after the marathon when I could barely walk the first half of the day.  People would have understood had I been wearing my finisher’s medal.  Instead, I look like a hobbling middle-aged man.  As an aside, I had given my finishers medal to my sister just after crossing the finish line.  One of the most emotional moments that I’ve ever shared with her…I will always cherish that moment!

I have iced it regularly since the marathon and I’m going to test it this morning.  I’m currently in San Diego and it’s only 5:30 a.m. so I will utilize the fitness center in the hotel.  It has to be the best fitness center I’ve ever seen in a hotel.  There are 20 incredible treadmills overlooking the Harbor.  I will have a glass of organic carrot juice, a banana, and a CLIF bar and begin the journey back from the marathon.

I cannot recall recovering so quickly from a marathon.  The 3:28:47 (7:57 pace) didn’t place too much stress on my body.  In a recent Facebook post I was very critical of the Rock n’ Roll series for being so well marketed but clearly over-hyped.  I must have also seemed a little discouraged because I ran my slowest time despite qualifying for Boston.  A friend responded and was quick to remind me that I should give the RNR series another chance and to be grateful for the qualifying time.  As he put it, “That’s quite an accomplishment for someone your age!”  I know Dave meant that in the most positive way and I really needed to hear his message.

So I’m grateful for his wisdom and insight.  And I’m equally grateful that I’ve now qualified for Boston in every marathon that I’ve run since 1979.  I am proud that I have qualified for Boston in 5 separate decades!  The days following a marathon can be the most introspective days I experience.  Running marathons just helps me appreciate all the small things in life.   I’m certainly grateful for my family, my health, my job and all the abundance that I’ve been blessed with.  I’m also grateful to be a marathon running coach for the Boston Marathon.

The Marathon Coalition runners inspire me to continue to try to make a difference in the world.  I am convinced the best legacy to have is one of serving others and each one of them embodies that spirit.  I am so excited to be returning to New England tomorrow night at midnight after being away for 11 days and attending training on Saturday.

My hope is that my run goes well this morning and I’ll be running with the TEAM on Saturday!

UPDATE:  I just completed a 6 mile run on the treadmill and had absolutely no problems with my Achilles.  In fact, I felt stronger today than I did during the marathon…extremely encouraging!

Comments
  1. terri says:

    It is an amazing accomplishment Rick! How did your achilles feel while you ran? I just cannot even imagine running 26.2 miles at that pace… congrats again!

  2. Terri,

    I had no problems whatsoever with my Achilles during the marathon. Thank you for your kind comments.

    Rick

Leave a Reply

