Marathon Coalition Spirit

Posted: February 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

I thought the runners needed a reminder that there is actually light at the end of the training tunnel.  This is the stage of training where you can easily become complacent.  The middle segment of training can easily cause one to lose focus.

I brought one of my Boston Marathon finisher’s medals to pass around the room.  My goal was to remind the runners of the importance of maximizing their training effort and avoid running junk miles by concentrating too much on the quantitative aspect of training and not enough on the effort invested. 

I described several of my favorite aspects of the marathon.  I always get chills when I arrive at the Hynes Auditorium with my official postcard from the B.A.A. to pick up my number.  I also enjoy the Fitness Expo and seeing the latest running products.  Most importantly, I described what the experience of the finish line would be like.  It’s amazing to take the right onto Hereford Street and to see the final turn onto Boylston Street.  Once you turn onto Boylston Street…welcome to the party!  You could scream at the top of your lungs to the runner next to you and they wouldn’t hear you.  It may be the closest you ever get to being a Rock Star!

It’s so exciting to be coaching so many first-time marathoners.  I am incapable of adequately describing what they’re going to experience on April 18th.  My passion for coaching has been rejuvenated by the enthusiasm of the Marathon Coalition runners.

Go TEAM!

Comments
  1. Erik says:

    The logo is great!

    This was a helpful post. I’m at the point where I’m starting to feel the impact of doing 40+ miles week after week. The added challenge of running in the “wintry mix” of precipitation is making this chapter of training difficult. With no break in sight, every little bit of encouragement helps.

    Thanks Coach!

    • Hello Erik,

      I’m glad that you like the new Marathon Coalition logo. As I said this morning at training, others do all the work and I manage to always get the credit; it simply isn’t fair to all those that selflessly work so hard.

      Keep your focus, the marathon will be here much sooner than you realize!

      Your Coach,

      Rick

  2. Mark Duffield says:

    I’ve never run Boston before, but I have been to the expo. It is truly overwhelming! I can’t wait to turn the corner at Hereford and Boylston and feel the rush of the moment.

    Both my 14 and 15 mile long runs have gone great, but it is always good to have extra encouragement in reserve, just in case.

    Thanks for all that you have given us, Rick!

    • Hello Mark,

      You’re doing so well with your training. I’m impressed by your commitment to your training and fundraising. I am confident you’re going to have a positive marathon experience.

      Thank you so much for all your enthusiasm and positive attitude. I’m really proud of you!

      Your Coach,

      Rick

  3. Cheryl Reed says:

    As frustrating as these training conditions have been over the past 3 weeks or so, I have decided that the upside for me is that it has made me limit my “junk” miles. Partly due to the weather, I have been very moderate with my training, really focused on the goals for each run, and have been doing a lot more cross training than ever before. This is the total opposite of how I trained for my last marathon. I ran 6 days a week with little rest or cross training! I’m nervous now that I am not doing enough, but I am hoping that in the end, this will prove to be the better way to train!

  4. Hello Cheryl,

    This is undoubtedly a much better approach to marathon training. Many runners, particularly those that subscribed to your previous training method, don’t find comfort in my approach until they experience the results. Then it doesn’t take long to welcome them to the ranks of the converted…the believers!

    Your Coach,

    Rick

  5. Erik says:

    Good point Cheryl. Big ups to the cross-training. I got on the bike today as a recovery to yesterday’s long run. My legs haven’t felt this rejuvenated in a while.

Leave a Reply

