Recommended Reading

Posted: February 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

It was wonderful to have my entire family at training this past Saturday.  After my comments to the TEAM prior to the run, 4-year-old Macie said to me…”Dad, I know what I want to be when I grow up….a runner!  You have to love that!  It was nice to see Lori and Rider running together the last few miles on Beacon Street.  Rider has been so influenced by charity runners throughout his life.  Being surrounded by motivated and charitable people is one of the greatest gifts you can receive.  My view of the world as well as my view of myself continues to be influenced by the runners I coach.

We spent yesterday morning enjoying The Harvard Museum of Natural History (http://www.hmnh.harvard.edu/).  I highly recommend it if you’ve never been…it was fascinating.

The post-run questions from the runners are starting to get far more specific.  They range from injury-prevention, cross-training, nutrition, shoes, and how to manage the Boston Marathon course.  I absolutely love reading and always have numerous books that I’m reading and referencing in an effort to expand my knowledge of various aspects of running and coaching.  Following are the books I’m currently reading:

  • Run: The Mind=Body Method  Of RUNNING BY FEEL by Matt Fitzgerald
  • Racing Weight: How To Get Lean For Peak Performance by Matt Fitzgerald
  • Thrive: The Vegan Nutrition Guide to Optimal Performance in Sports and Life  by Brendan Brazier (Professional Ironman Triathlete and Formulator of Vega)
  • Thrive Fitness: The Vegan Based Training Program for Maximum Strength, Health, and Fitness by Brendan Brazier
  • The Athlete’s Guide To Yoga: An Integrated Approach To Strength, Felixibility & Focus by Sage Rountree
  • Journey Into Power: How To Sculpt Your Ideal Body, Free Your True Self, and Transform Your Life With Yoga by Baron Baptiste
  • Going Long: Legends, Oddballs, Comebacks & Adventures (The Best Stories from Runner’s World) Edited by David Willey

One of the reasons I continue to be excited by and engaged in my running is because there is always something to improve upon.  As I’ve aged I’ve searched for every possible advantage to extend my longevity in running.  I try to share this insight and knowledge with the runners I coach so they can develop good habits that have taken me years to develop.

I hope the books that I’ve recommend will be new additions to your running library!

Comments
  1. Michael says:

    I’ve been reading ‘Born to Run’, A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen. The story of the Caballo Blanco (the White Horse) makes me think of you Rick!

  2. Hello Michael,

    Born To Run is one of my favorite books. The values the Tarahumara tribe embodies really resonated with me (i.e., strength, patience, cooperation, dedication and persistence) so thank you for the compliment.

    I will definitely be running more on the Grafton Land Trust properties this year. Thank you for the great work that you do!

    Rick

Leave a Reply

