Surviving Travel

Posted: February 27, 2011 in Uncategorized

I have been in Houston since Thursday attending the National Association of Colleges Stores (NACS) conference.  I had a major presentation yesterday (Mining Gold In Your Own Backyard) which focused on an intra-campus marketing program to help college bookstores sell their products to departments (i.e., president’s office, alumni, development, athletic, etc.).  The highlight of the presentation was having a representative from Luther College in Decorah, Iowa attend.  I haven’t seen him in over 25 years when I was selling textbooks to college professors.  It was in incredible surprise.

Traveling presents several major challenges to my running and fitness, particularly when I’m at a trade show.  I am usually on my feet for 10 hours each day interacting with hundreds of people so I’m typically exhausted afterwards.  This also disrupts my normal eating pattern and then I usually have to take people to dinner at restaurants I would never choose on my own.  When I travel I realize how self-indulgent and undisciplined people are…it’s frightening. 

I continue to struggle with my left Achilles tendon.  I took a 5,000 mile motorcycle trip last June and returned unable to run.  Keeping my foot in the same position for 10-12 hours each day for ten consecutive days caused tendonitis in my tendon.  It’s time to seek physical therapy…what a revelation!  It’s unsettling because it’s prevented me from running on consecutive days and it’s particularly painful when I first walk each morning.  My hope is that it doesn’t place my Boston Marathon effort in peril!

I leave Houston on Wednesday and travel to San Antonio to spend several days visiting 4 military installations.  I completed my boot camp and survival training in the area so it’ll be interesting to return after 35 years!

Comments
  1. Katie Weinmann says:

    I looooove your blog, when I remember to read it. My job is picking up too, it’s really hard to balance it all!

    I did well today at the half. I was looking all over the place for you and Lori. Hopefully, I’ll see you in a few weeks at a coalition run!

  2. Hello Katie,

    Lori ran the half in Hyannis but I’ve been in Texas since Thursday. She looked for you all day but obviously didn’t see you. How did you do?

    Thank you for following my blog!

    Rick

    • Samantha says:

      Lori was looking smooth and swift when I saw her Rick! She definitely gave me a boost of happiness and energy. See you on Saturday!

Leave a Reply

