Longhorn Fever

Posted: March 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

I finally arrived in San Antonio after an extremely intense conference in Houston this past week.  I leave for Ft. Hood in Killeen, Texas tomorrow morning @ 6:00 a.m.. On Friday I’ll be visiting the University of Texas in Austin and arriving back in Providence just before midnight.

I ran 6 miles on the treadmill this evening @ 7:30 pace.  I focused on sustaining my efficiency during the run by maintaining a steady 180 steps per minute rate.  I stretched thoroughly afterwards and just hope that my Achilles won’t be tender in the morning.

I visited Whole Foods and have stocked my hotel with several days of organic foods.  I’ve become a huge fan of the LARABAR, particularly Peanut Butter Cookie and Cashew Cookie.  They’re 100% real food composed of fruit, nuts and spices; they’re ideal for between meals.  Properly fueling and hydrating for the long runs should extend beyond just 1-2 days beforehand.

Our step-back week of 13 miles will provide a welcome reprieve from over two months of gradual mileage increases.  Our last long run (20 miles) is just 3 weeks away.  We’ll then begin our 3 week tapering process.  Most runners should consider adding a new pair of shoes to their rotation.  I like to run the 20 miler in the shoes I plan to wear in the marathon.  After the 20 miler I’ll set them aside until Marathon Day.

People take great pride in the state of Texas.  I saw a bumper sticker today: I am Not From Texas But I Got Here As Soon As I Could.  I love Texas, particularly Austin, but there truly is no place like home!

Leave a Reply

