Home Sweet Home!

Posted: March 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

It is so nice to be home after spending 8 days in Texas.  My flight into Providence arrived late so I didn’t go to sleep until 2:00 a.m. and was awake at 5:15 a.m….I was exhausted.  But the Marathon Coalition had a 13 mile run scheduled and I wanted to run.

I definitely felt sluggish and didn’t have any leg speed.  I simply tried to maintain a steady pace throughout the run and not lose my running efficiency.  I continue to have residual pain in my left Achilles but it only bothered me the first two miles.  I used the Pro Stretch afterwards and iced.  I slept with the Strassburg sock and it seemed to help.

It’s a beautiful morning so I’m going to ride my mountain bike in North Grafton.  Lori is taking Rider and Macie Jo to the Community Barn for an event sponsored by the Grafton Land Trust (New England Animal Adventures).  I’m going to join them during my ride.  This will be my first ride of the year outdoors so I’m excited.  I’m going to have to rely heavily on my biking as I work through my Achilles pain.

This is the time of year that I begin to dream about riding my motorcycles.  I always wait until after the Boston Marathon however.  Here is a picture of my chopper:

Lori and I spend a lot of time riding motorcycles, bicycles and horses so that is how we came up with the name Rider.  He’s absolutely lived up to his name…he was riding a scooter before he was two and rode his bicycle at three.  He received his first motorcycle on his third birthday and has been riding them ever since.

Well, I’m off to enjoy the day…it’s so wonderful to be home with my family!

Leave a Reply

