My Apologies

Posted: March 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

I would like to apologize to all of the loyal followers of this blog for being so inconsistent recently.  I have tried to post something meaningful or inspirational every day but obviously have fallen well short of that the past several weeks. 

My work schedule is far more demanding this time of year.  I often leave my hotel my 7:00 a.m. each morning and often return after 11:00 p.m. with incredible amounts of e-mails related to work and my coaching.  My priority is to respond as quickly as possible to every Marathon Coalition runner that has a question or needs reassurance.  Consequently I have sacrificed sleep and my personal workouts to be as responsive as possible.

I am approaching nearly 10,000 unique views in just a few short months so I feel badly that the quality of my blog has recently diminished.  Although my schedule won’t slow down until the academic year concludes, I am going to make a greater commitment to posting daily.  I don’t have an archive of articles that I recycle, I literally sit down at the computer and decide what the post will be immediately before writing.

I just returned from Chicago and will be departing on Sunday for a week of travel in South Carolina, Georgia, Tennessee and Florida.  My work, coaching, social life (albeit very limited), training for Boston, and MY FAMILY are all so fulfilling and I am extremely grateful for the life that I have so I hope I don’t appear to be complaining.  I never dreamed of having such an amazing family or such a fulfilling life!

I never take for granted the unique opportunity that I have been given the past 15 years to coach so many amazing runners.  The chance to make the slightest difference or provide a moment of inspiration in the life of just one person is what continues to drive and motivate me to be the best role model and coach that I can be.

Thank you for your patience and understanding as I attempt to balance the scale of life!

Comments
  1. Fran says:

    Hey Rick – Great to have something to read and discuss this morning. I have been missing your daily posts. Sorry that you have been stretched so thin lately. I hope that your calf is doing better. Looking forward to seeing you and the TEAM tomorrow.

  2. Hello Fran,

    Thank you for your message! I’m looking forward to our 19 mile run with the TEAM tomorrow, too. My body feels as strong as it has in a very long time…tomorrow will be a good test of my fitness.

    Your Coach,

    Rick

  3. Cheryl Reed says:

    Apologies are hardly necessary! I so appreciate your candor and honesty about how blessed you are with all the wonderful facets of our lives, but yet still feel stressed by them. It’s nice to hear how you also have to struggle with fitting in training with your other responsibilites. It helps the rest of us feel human, too! When people ask me how it is going, and I feel frustrated, I have to be careful to not sound like I’m complaining, because I know how grateful I am to be able to do all the things I am doing, even if I can’t do all of them 100% all the time!

    • Donna says:

      Wow you put into words exactly what and how i have been feeling. I have been feeling frustrated lately because of some small injuries or aggrivations. I feel like my training isnt progressing as it should. I am keeping up with the miles in one way or another whether its running, eliptical or bike. I think just the fact the marathon is approaching its making me nervous. Its great to hear that I am not the only one feeling frustrated, but grateful for this experience. I too feel that you dont want to complain too much because we are lucky that we get to experience this whole process. I hope that its not the only time I will get to participate in running for the team. Its a great organization. Best of luck in your training and on marathon day to all my fellow team members.

  4. Amy Campisi says:

    Apology accepted. I read every time you post 🙂 (And I do enjoy Lori’s entries, too!) Balance. We are all there with you. Namaste.

Leave a Reply

