Charleston, South Carolina

Posted: March 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

“It’s not too late to be what you might have been” -George Eliot

George Eliot was actually the pen name of English novelist and journalist, Mary Ann Evans.  She used a man’s name to ensure her work was taken more seriously.  Imagine that!  Thankfully, much has changed since the 1800’s.  I noticed this quote under a street light during my run this morning.

I ran 10 miles along the waterfront and through the streets of Charleston, South Carolina long before the sun began to rise.    I ran through the area of the Charleston slave markets and breathed a huge sigh of relief, thankful that dark period in our country’s history is behind us. 

This city oozes a Southern charm.  I ran by a storefront that had a mannequin with a Seersucker suit, pressed white shirt and a pink bow tie.  You certainly don’t see that very often in New England.  Some of the cobblestones near the waterfront mansions were so dramatic that I couldn’t run on them…reminiscent of the one day cycling classic Paris-Roubaix!

It was wonderful to run in just shorts and a short sleeve shirt.  The cool breeze from Charleston Harbor contrasted with the heat I was generating from a challenging tempo run.  It’s so nice to run in complete quiet and darkness…a perfect beginning to the day.  I’m heading to the airport soon to fly to Louisville, Kentucky.  I’ll be at Fort Knox tomorrow and hopefully discovering a wonderful place to run there.

I’m starting to get more excited about the Boston Marathon as it’s just over a month away.  Although I have thoroughly enjoyed my time in the south, I am looking forward to returning home to my family.  I’m also looking forward to running 12 miles with the Marathon Coalition TEAM this Saturday.  We’re going to be running towards the finish line…but we’re going to turn around before we get to Hereford and Boylston. 

This marathon journey certainly brings us closer to being the person we want to be!

 

Comments
  1. Erik says:

    One of my favorite running cities (and also a favorite eating city). Enjoy your trip.

  2. Lindsey says:

    Glad to hear that you had a great run this morning! From the picture you posted, it looks like you got to enjoy beautiful surroundings the whole way. I also did a tempo run this morning that went very well, and I’m excited to run to the finish line (almost) with the team on Saturday! See you then.

    • Hello Lindsey,

      I’m glad that your tempo run went well this morning. Everything seems better after a great run :-)!

      I am going to discourage the first-timers from completing the Hereford to Boylston stretch. I look forward to seeing you Saturday.

      Your Coach,

      Rick

  3. Gina says:

    Charlestown is a beautiful city! Glad you had a great run! I won’t be with the TEAM this wknd for our run but will be thinking of you guys while I’m out dodging alligators in Tampa on my 12 miler 🙂

  4. Hello Gina,

    I depart Louisville tomorrow morning @ 7:00 a.m. and arrive in Tampa @ 9:05 a.m. I’ll depart Tampa @ 4:55 p.m. and arrive in Providence @ 10:00 p.m. I’ll look for you at the airport 🙂

    Rick

Leave a Reply

