My New Most Favorite Thing

Posted: April 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

 For months, my “achilles heel” has literally been my achilles.  No matter what I do, whether I rest, run, ice, massage, stretch, etc. nothing has seemed to help.  It started after riding my motorcycle on a 5,000 mile trip through the Natchez Trace and the Blue Ridge Parkway last summer.  Keeping my feet flexed in my riding boots for 12 hours a day caused my achilles to tighten with some sort of tendonitis.  It has been difficult staying consistent with my running as favoring the achilles then caused my gastrocnemius to sieze. 

However, recently I decided to try the Strassburg Sock http://www.thesock.com/.  I was always aware of this sock, but I associated it with plantar fasciitis, and didn’t think it would help my achilles tendonitis.  Anyway, I thought it certainly wouldn’t hurt to give it a try.  I slept with the sock on at night and after three days, I noticed a big difference.  After a week, my achilles pain was gone and now, three weeks later, it’s no longer an issue.  I now travel with the Strassburg Sock and use it regularly as a precautionary measure.  I would highly recommend trying the sock for any issues with plantar fasciitis, calf pain, shin splints or achilles soreness.  The sock can be purchased at Marathon Sports.  I guarantee it will make a difference!

Comments
  1. terri lima-rosen says:

    Rick-
    Thank you for the excellent recommendation- I will definitely be getting one. I have suffered from all of those injuries as a runner- and this is great to know. Also- Thanks for the shout out on the LARABARs – They are the perfect fuel/snack for runners/athletes. I like them because they are not only delicious, whole, natural, but they digest so much better than balance bars, and power barsetc…
    Terri lima rosen

  2. Hello Terri,

    I’m glad you’re benefiting from my recommendations. After an exhaustive trial and error process, I always feel compelled to share the products that have worked so well for me.

    Rick

Leave a Reply

