Risk Versus Reward

Posted: April 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

I am starting to really feel the excitement of the Boston Marathon!  The anticipation of the next 4 days is so exhilarating.  It all begins with the drive to the Hynes Auditorium to pick up my number and visit the Fitness Expo.  Once I present my I.D. and I receive my number from the volunteer, it is real!

Carrying the bag over my shoulder into the expo makes me feel like a soldier preparing for war.  It’s similar to the excitement of the pep rally before the Friday night game, the step onto a military plane before a manuever, the bachelor party before the wedding, it’s the anticipation of a MAJOR accomplishment.

I’ve learned to leave my comfort zone as frequently as possible to feel alive.  After I lost mom to leukemia in 1996 and began talking about the magnitude of loss and inspiration in front of thousands of people, I realized life is lived well beyond my comfort zone.  I am not afraid to lose my emotions in front of others, I’m not afraid to let people know that how much I care about and love them and I’m certainly not afraid of failure.  I’ve learned the biggest and hardest lessons life has to offer through failure and disappointment.

And I’m certainly not afraid of taking on the 26.2 mile trek from Hopkinton to Boston.  But there’s a HUGE difference between fear and respect.  I absolutely respect the Boston Marathon…it’s the most challenging marathon course I’ve ever run.  The weather in New England on Patriot’s Day is as unpredictable as a 16-year-old behind the wheel of a car.

If you’re not nervous about running Boston I suspect you’ll learn some valuable lessons on Monday.  There’s always a little voice in my ear asking if I’m prepared, can I really make it to the finish line, have I done all the necessary training to allow me to finish in ‘relative comfort, do I really have the heart and determination to accomplish this?  Those are reasonable questions and can certainly cast doubt over what has the potential of being the biggest day of your life.

The Boston Marathon makes me feel alive!  I love big challenges because there’s undeniably a correlation between the magnitude of the risk you take and the reward you receive.  Are you ready for this?  I have no doubt that EVERY runner on the Marathon Coalition TEAM will see the finish line on Monday…bring it!!!

Leave a Reply

