Major Transitions

Posted: April 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

Now that the Boston Marathon is complete I will transition to a new phase of training and life.  I will definitely miss being with the Marathon Coalition runners every Saturday because they brought so much joy and meaning to my life.  It was a huge a blessing to spend time with such an amazing group of people committed to a common goal.

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful and committed people can change the world.  Indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has!”  -Margaret Mead

They made such a difference on so many levels.  They raised over $700,000 which will provide educational opportunities to so many and the benefits for those recipients will last beyond their lifetime as the new standard for subsequent generations will be to pursue higher education.  They’ve inspired their friends and families to pursue dormant or abandoned dreams.  They become physically stronger and spiritually healthier because they’ve been committed to training for Boston while serving others.  And they now look at themselves differently now that they’ve become Boston Marathoners!

I find considerable comfort in the small role that I played in their accomplishment.  It warms my heart when a runner says, “I’ve never had anyone believe in me like you!”  So now it’s time to transition to the next chapter in my life.  I look forward to the warmer weather and spending more time with my family.  I look forward to playing golf occasionally with Rider and several of our friends.  I also look forward to riding my motorcycles amd flyfishing.

My life has gotten too busy and complicated.  I would like to simplify it as much as possible and focus on the things that mean the most to me (i.e., family, friends, fitness, work, and pursuing a higher meaning to my life).   I’ve been intrigued by yoga for quite some time and I plan to pursue that interest.  I’m going to build my running back from ground zero by incorporating all the advice I offer to others.  I’ve been inconsistent with my training for too long for a variety of reasons which has resulted in numerous injuries.  It’s time to become more strict with my nutrition and stretching.

I know that November will arrive sooner than expected so I also want to begin preparing for the next group of runners that will join the next Marathon Coalition TEAM.  I want to ensure the runners and the charities that make up the Marathon Coalition have the best possible experience.  Operating in the spirit of continuous improvement has served me well through the years.

Most importantly, I want to live in the moment more and enjoy all that life offers!

Comments
  1. Chris Aucella says:

    I will always love that quote.

    “Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful and committed people can change the world. Indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has!” -Margaret Mead

Leave a Reply

