Golf Anyone?

Posted: April 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

Mornings are my favorite time of the day.  I’ve always loved when it rains so this morning is perfect.  Rain seems to briefly slow time and cleanse the earth.  The pellet stove is blazing in the other room and our Rhodesian Ridgeback is curled up at my feet.  He’s content now that he’s had his breakfast.  Eating has always been his top priority, running has been a distant second…much like a marathon runner!

This is the first Saturday in almost 6 months that I’ll not be driving into Boston to train the Marathon Coalition runners.  I am certainly going to miss them and the special time we shared.  I’ve reluctantly accepted that I will never see or communicate with some of them again.  It’s simply a part of life…people accomplish their goal and move onto a new stage in their lives.  However, most of my great friendships are with runners that I’ve coached.  Not surprisingly, I’m drawn to athletic, healthy people, who are committed to serving others and making a difference in the world…they’re been my primary inspiration for over 15 years.

I am taking a good friend golfing this morning.  I took up golf a few years ago and I absolutely love it despite being horrific.  I dress like a pro and play like a schmoe!  I’ve been paired with other golfers that I haven’t known to form a foursome.  The common response has been, “When I first saw you I thought you were the club pro and was very nervous.  Once I saw you swing I knew that wasn’t the case!”  There’s been a lot of pressure to have my golf game keep pace with my outfit for the day.  Maybe the simple solution is a little less ironing and color matching and a bit more practice.

I’m really looking forward to getting my motorcycles on the road.  I now have 5 but I would really like to get down to 2…it’s not been easy!  I am planning another long distance trip to Colorado, Utah, Idaho, Wyoming and Montana with a little bit of fly-fishing and trail running thrown in for good measure.  Here’s a picture of my Exile chopper:

Many people have asked whether I’ll continue to maintain my blog now the Boston Marathon is over.  I’m absolutely planning to maintain it and hope that you’ll let me know what topics interest you the most.  You can communicate with me directly @ rickmbmw@aol.com.

I’ll let you know how my first round of golf for the year goes…I expectect nothing but fairways and greens but it’s likely not going to be pretty.  If nothing else, I will look good doing it!

Comments
  1. Fred Grosso says:

    Rick,

    Take dead aim.

    Fred

  2. Fred,

    That has ALWAYS been the plan but the execution has left a lot to be desired.

    Rick

Leave a Reply

