Good Morning Austin

Posted: July 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

The temperature cooled
considerably for this morning’s run. I departed this morning at 5:00 a.m. in complete darkness and the temperature was 78 degrees. It’s exhilarating to run in complete darkness on a foreign course. As I departed the Omni Austin I had to weave through the homeless that appeared to be resting comfortably on the concrete sidewalks surrounding the hotel; the scent of despair and a night of excess hung heavily in the air.

It was so nice to enter the trail surrounding Town Lake. I was surprised by the number of runners I encountered at such an early hour. The footing was tenuous so I reduced my pace until I began to feel comfortable. Afer a few miles I felt far more comfortable and set the cruise control at 7:30 pace. I tuned on my iPod and ran effortlessly to the sound of Sweet Home Alabama.

The miles seemed to fly by and I soon had 10 miles in the bank as the Austin skyline appeared through the trees. The dome of the State Capital was illuminated in the distance and provided assurance that I was heading in the right direction and the conclusion of my run was nearing.

After struggling through my last run, I truly appreciated the quality of this morning’s run. Running makes me feel so alive and appreciative for all the abundance in my life. I worked at TCU in Fort Worth yesterday and today I’ll be at the University of Texas. I’m looking forward to returning to New England tomorrow evening!

Comments
  1. Mark Duffield says:

    Sounds like a great run, Rick. I’ve always wanted to visit Austin, and when I do, I’ll sure to check out this route.

  2. Katie says:

    I had the pleasure of visiting UT last month and running there as well. Great city. Hopefully you got to visit Lance’s bike shop too!

Leave a Reply

