Even The Swine Barn Smelled Great

Posted: September 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

This morning was the first time in quite a while that I’ve been able to run pain-free. I’ve been plagued with soreness in my Soleus that’s prevented me from running more than a few miles.

As I was departing for my run I passed Lori as she was completing her run. Ironically, it was on the same road where we met walking our dogs 14 years ago. I continue to feel blessed for what’s resulted from that happenstance meeting. Lori raced a 5K in Grafton on Saturday and the Dr. Cynthia Lucero 5K in West Roxbury yesterday…she was the overall women’s winner in both races! Oh and Rider finished just behind her in both races. I didn’t need any more motivation than that to jumpstart my training this morning.

I felt smooth and strong from the outset as I concentrated on keeping my pace moderate and my form controlled. As I approached one of my favorite running areas near Tuft’s University Vet School, I passed 3 women running in the opposite direction. One of them was a runner I coached for the 1996 Dublin Marathon…it was wonderful to see Jenny again.

The fog was lifting in the nearby fields and the sun was just rising. I passed an equine barn and several students were mucking stalls and placing pine scented shavings in each one. My breathing and footsrikes were in complete rhythm and I was feeling so grateful to be running again. I thought about all the runners that view running as a chore and wanted to yell out to them to, ‘Be grateful for the ability to run each day!’

It seemed like such a perfect morning…even the aroma of the swine barn seemed pleasant as I ran by!

Comments
  1. Rider Muhr says:

    Its good to have you back DAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Hello Rider,

      Thank you so much for following my blog…it’s great to be back! I am so impressed by your recent race results. I’m really going to have to step my training for the upcoming Whitin 5 on Thanksgiving morning.

      I Love You,

      Dad

  2. Rider Muhr says:

    Thank you I, I can’t wait for the race!

    Rider

Leave a Reply

