First Day Of Training

Posted: December 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

The Marathon Coalition TEAM met for the first time this morning.  We started conservatively with a 4 mile run and will gradually increase our runs each week and culminate with our last training run of 21 miles three weeks prior to the Boston Marathon.  The weather was absolutely perfect. 

I provided a brief demonstration of proper and efficient running form and plan to reinforce this technique throughout training.

 I am always inspired when I pass the Johnny Kelley statue positioned at the corner of Commonwealth Avenue and Walnut Street.  Johnny Kelley competed in a record 61 Boston Marathons.  A legend of the marathon, Kelley won the 1935 and 1945 runnings of the Boston Marathon.  He finished in second place at Boston a record seven times. Between 1934 to 1950, he finished in the top five 15 times at Boston, consistently running in the 2:30s. He ran his last full marathon at Boston in 1992 at the age of 84, his 61st start and 58th finish there.

I never miss an opportunity to touch the statue each time I pass it…it’s good marathon karma.  He was one of my running heroes and I will always pay tribute to his contribution to and history with the Boston Marathon!

Comments
  1. Coach, Thanks for the excellent kick-off session! I heard more than one marathoner (hey, we’re all going to make it, right?) remark that they learned something they didn’t know Saturday and were looking forward to next week’s sessions. For me, turns out I’ve been doing quad stretches wrong for years and have now switched to using the opposite hand to grab my ankle (left leg, right arm).

    • Hello Steve,

      I am so glad you enjoyed the kick-off on Saturday. Thank you for your kind comments. I am eager to share all that I’ve learned from 35 years of running and 15 years of coaching to provide the confidence you need to perform your best in Boston! I look forward to also learning from you.

      Your Coach,

      Rick

Leave a Reply

