Happy New Year!

Posted: December 31, 2011 in Uncategorized

Lori, Rider and Macie Jo joined me this morning for my training run with the Marathon Coalition runners.  I never enjoy waking the kids up @ 5:30 a.m. on a weekend but they were both so excited to attend training.  Rider ran 5 of the scheduled 8 miles and I enjoyed running up Heartbreak Hill with him for the first time.  We often discuss running the Boston Marathon together someday.  I remember when Lori and I brought him to training before he was even before he was a week old.

Today was a reminder of how quickly time passes.  Rider ran with Bob Connolly and Stephen Najarian today, two runners that were at training the first week of his life.  Charity runners have had a significant influence on him.  Before he was even 4 years old, and just after he learned to ride his bike, he proclaimed, “I want to ride my bike to raise money for kids with cancer!”  As a parent, that will certainly make her hear smile.    Lori found a Pan Mass Challenge For Kids in a nearby town and Rider rode in memory of his grandma and grandpa.  It was one of the proudest days of my life.

As I consider resolutions for the New Year, I certainly hope to improve as a runner, coach, husband and father (not necessarily in that order), but I am more focused on providing a healthy, safe and empowering environment for Rider and Macie Jo to thrive.  I wouldn’t be able to accomplish a fraction of what I have or hope to without the unconditional love and support of Lori.  We are all blessed to have her in our lives.

I hope that your 2012 is filled with great health, hope, inspiration and it exceeds your expectations on every level.

Happy New Year!

 

Leave a Reply

