Time of Reflection

Posted: January 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

The past week has presented some unexpected challenges.  One of our key vendors has experienced a significant decline in business and the ripple effect is considerable.  My role has been closely tied to this vendor so my position will be eliminated March 1st.  While news of this nature is seldom welcome, the past week has been one of the best of my life.

I have reflected on the abundance that I have in my life and how this situation has so much potential for positive change.  I have spent more time with my family and hope to continue on that path as I pursue other opportunities.  I plan to explore opportunities that are more aligned with my values and interests.  I’m confident that I’m going to benefit from this temporary setback.

I have been defined far more by my setbacks, disappointments, failures and challenges than by any of my successes.  I have no doubt that the journey that lies before me will be a defining time in my life.  I am determined to not be paralyzed by fear or uncertainty and to come away from this as a more enlightened and appreciative person.

The highlight of my week was sharing a 14.5 mile run with the Marathon Coalition runners.  Being surrounded by so many inspirational people who remain steadfast in their commitment to serving others provided a much-needed perspective on what is truly important in life.  Their example will sustain my spirit during this journey of discovery!

One of my runners, Greg Sullivan, just sent me this recent quote that he gave to his father before he passed:

Power of Attitude

“Our lives are not determined by what happens to us but rather by how we react to what happens; Not by what life brings to us, but the attitude we bring to life.  A positive attitude causes a chain reaction of positive thoughts, events and outcomes.  It is a catalyst…. A spark that creates extraordinary results.”

I have been so touched, motivated and inspired by the support I’ve received this past week.  I am at my best when confronted by a challenge!

Comments
  1. Heidi Lindert says:

    Rick I’m so sorry you are going through this. Why don’t you share with the coalition peeps the kinds of opportunities you are interested in? Lord knows the group has representation from every industry out there. I’d be more than happy to help in any way I can.

    • Hello Heidi,

      It’s been wonderful having you back running with the Marathon Coalition. The past 10 years I’ve been in sales managment as a vice president of sales. I did have a 5 year stint in the non-profit sector in development so I’m currently exploring opportunites in those areas. But the canvas is pretty clean so I’ll keep you and others posted as things develop.

      Thank you for reaching out.

      Rick

Leave a Reply

