Tribute Run For Fulvio!

Posted: November 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

Lori and I joined a wonderful group of Team In Training friends and teammates yesterday morning to honor the memory of Fulvio Abela.  This was an opportunity to take another step down the healing road that promises to be much more difficult and challenging than any marathon we’ve run.

I left Lexington, Virginia at 5:30 p.m. on Saturday and arrived home at 3:00 a.m.  I wasn’t going to miss the opportunity to return to the Wellesley Community Center and share this special morning with Fulvio’s wife, Rita, and this uniquely special group of friends.

During my 17 years as a marathon coach, I’ve always referenced a quote by Margaret Mead:

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful and committed people can change the world; Indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has!”

My hope is that the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society will establish the Fulvio Abela Team Spirit Award and present it annually to the TNT runner that embodies Fulvio’s spirit.  It will take an extremely unique and compelling runner to earn this coveted award.  I know that we will continue to honor his memory with other events and continue to provide support to the mission of the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

Providing comfort and support to Rita is important to all of us.  I simply cannot imagine the magnitude of her grief from losing someone she was so in love with.  Just as I felt when I lost my mom and Dr. Cynthia Lucero, I have a burning desire to help.  The direction of that help hasn’t been defined, but I know, along with the others pictured above, it will reveal itself in time.  And I know that effort will be commensurate with the contributions Fulvio made to the lives of so many.

We will attempt to live our lives in his spirit and example.

We will never forget you, Fulvio!

Leave a Reply

