Running Mecca

Posted: November 10, 2012 in Uncategorized

I am really looking forward to my visit to Oregon this week.  It’s one of only three states that I’ve not visited.  Hawaii is certainly on my list long before Louisiana to complete the cycle.  Oregon is steeped in running history and this is a trip that I’ve dreamed of for decades.

I will be visiting the University of Oregon and running on Pre’s Trail and the track at Hayward Field.  I remember the tragic day in 1975 when Steve Prefontaine was killed in a car accident.  I began my running career shortly afterwards and have been a huge fan of Pre and Nike ever since.  I look forward to a private tour of the Nike facility thanks to my friends at Marathon Sports.

My focus on running will shift slightly on Saturday as I drive to Bend, Oregon for a fly fishing trip on the historic Deschutes River.

I will spend the last two days in Portland exploring all the bike trails and finally meeting Kristen who I have coached  for several months.  Actually meeting someone who I’ve been coaching for Boston will certainly change the dynamic of our partnership.  The ultimate validation of a Boston Qualifying time is to qualify AT Boston…I know she will accomplish that goal!

This long overdue trip promises to exceed my expectations.

Leave a Reply

