The Love Of A Father…

Posted: November 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

The weather in New England has been wonderful.  I began the day with a run with Lori on one of my favorite courses that included a trail near the Willard House Clock Museum. We met there 15 years ago while walking our dogs and were married there on a beautiful summer afternoon.  Each time I run there I’m reminded how fortunate we are to have so much abundance-wonderful friends, great health and the opportunity to make a significant difference in the world.

Afterwards I rode my road bike 40 miles on another course that I enjoy.  As I was riding through South Grafton I noticed a runner approaching with a Boston Marathon shirt.  His form looked so efficient and familiar.  I soon realized it was Russ Trottier and so I stopped to greet him.  Russ is a dedicated father of four boys.  He dedicated last year’s Boston Marathon to his third son, Colin (who has Down Syndrome), by running for TEAM MDSC (Massachusetts Down Syndrome Congress).  He and his supporters raised nearly $20,000 for this important cause.

Russ is a 2:56 marathoner and one of the areas top runners.  More importantly, he’s one of the most genuine and wonderful people that I know.  If you want to make a difference in the lives of others, you simply need to follow his example.

Comments
  1. Kate says:

    Such an inspiration.

  2. Kate,

    We don’t have to look beyond our community to find an abundance of inspirational people.

    Rick

  3. Russ says:

    Rick, Thank you for your kind words. We all need to do our part, and we are our child’s biggest advocate. As I told you earlier, we are only paying it forward. My family has benefited from the great programs the Massachusetts Down Syndrome Congress offers and this is our way to give back. Godspeed my friend and have a great time in Oregon!

Leave a Reply

