The Spirit Of Hope

Posted: April 22, 2013 in Uncategorized

It’s difficult to believe it’s been a week since we made our trek to Hopkinton filled with hope and anticipation.  I suspect we have changed more in the past week than possibly any other week in our lives.

We have felt threatened, our faith in humanity shaken, disappointed that we were unable to compete a goal that we invested so much time, effort and dedication, we mourned for those lost and injured, and we were inspired to honor them and to grasp all that life offers and begin preparing for the 2014 Boston Marathon.

I was comforted by the countless stories told my so many runners in the aftermath of last Monday’s horrific tragedy.  Tom Ingrassia, running for the Boys & Girls Club of Newton, shared the following:

“My memories of Monday will be the glimmers of hope and humanity I witnessed in the aftermath of tragedy–the woman who offered me her marathon jacket when she saw me, bedraggled-looking, caked in salt, and shivering in a doorway on Stuart Street, trying to find my wife. The Marathon volunteer who offered to give me money to get some food. The woman who offered me her water bottle. The sheer joy I felt as I watched my wife finally make her way up Stuart Street, and as we clung to each other when we reunited. (Barbara was supposed to have been sitting in the bleachers at the finish line–but had been delayed by traffic and subway backups, and hadn’t yet made it t the finish line area when the bombs exploded–but because of the blocked cell phones, I didn’t know where she was for almost 2 hours.) And, first and foremost, the amazing love, caring and concern we received from friends and family. To be loved is an amazing thing!

You are the best! And, despite the tragedy of the day, running the Boston Marathon was a positive experience for me–my best, most joyful run ever!”

Tom

Tom Ingrassia

Comments
  1. Yolanda says:

    Love stories such as this coming from last week!!!

    • Yolanda,

      It’s been a week wrought with emotion and challenge. But I’m confident we’ll all be more grateful, enlightened, appreciative-and with greater resolve to live life to the fullest.

      Rick

Leave a Reply

