Rewards Of Coaching

Posted: April 25, 2013 in Uncategorized

I normally take 5 months completely off from coaching after the Boston Marathon.  It’s a perfect time to assess what changes are necessary to improve the experience for all Marathon Coalition runners and their respective charities.  November seems to arrive sooner each year and then we’re underway for another year.  It’s perfect because, after a 5 month break,  I’m always counting the weeks before the Marathon Coalition kick-off.

This past year I have conducted numerous private two hour Transformational Running clinics covering all aspects of running.  The primary focus is to improve a runner’s form and to maintain their efficiency throughout each run.  Additionally, these sessions truly transform the mental, physical and spiritual aspects of running.  It’s wonderful to observe runners adopt a completely new mindset and approach to their running…one that has far more purpose and meaning.  This has now segued into private coaching, completely separate from coaching a full team of nearly 250 Marathon Coalition runners.

It’s been a nice balance between coaching nearly 250  charity runners to finishing the Boston Marathon in relative comfort and  a smaller group of runners determined to improve their qualifying time.  Working one-on-one with runners has been a wonderful compliment to my charity coaching and added an entirely new dimension to my coaching portfolio.  I have thoroughly enjoyed coaching runners across the country and helping them to achieve their running goals.

I couldn’t be happier with the group of runners I’m currently coaching for fall marathons.  I’m continuing with several runners that I coached for Boston and an entirely new group that all have the goal of pursuing a Boston qualifying time.  I’m proud to say that 90% of the runners I coached for Boston ran qualifying times.  One runner improved his personal best by 90 minutes and qualified for Boston.

I wanted to thank you for your incredible help with my own Boston training. Outside of the tragic events that unfolded, I will always remember your input to my training which helped me achieve an 90 minute personal best!” -Nick Ritter

 

Although it looks like I won’t have the same break from coaching in 2013, I know that I will have a far greater impact on many more runners.  I couldn’t ask for a more rewarding opportunity.

Comments
  1. Rick, your post today makes me think about the rewards about being coached by someone like you. I had lunch with a colleague who ran the New Bedford 1/2 and is now interested in running a full.The knowledge you have given me in a few short months I am now passing on to him and while so much of this is indivdual and everyone has their own way of fueling, running, training, etc… you have provided so much foundation and education to me about approaching running with the honor, commitment and respect it deserves. I am so excited to say that this is only the beginning for me and want to thank you for your tireless and unconditional giving.
    penny

  2. Penny,

    I’m so excited to be coaching you beyond the Boston Marathon and I’m grateful you’ve been able to share what you’ve learned from being involved in the Marathon Coalition the past 5 months. Encouraging others to run and pursue their goals is one of the great gifts in life.

    I look forward to seeing you in the morning.

    Rick

Leave a Reply

