Best Buddies

Posted: May 1, 2013 in Uncategorized

Tom Brady

I was honored to spend an amazing evening in Boston at the Seaport Hotel with Tom Brady and the Best Buddies Marathon TEAM!  Anthony Kennedy Shriver (Founder of Best Buddies) announced that the money raised from the Tom Brady Football Challenge on May 31st will be donated to those affected by the  tragedies that occurred at the 2013 Marathon.

I asked Tom if he ever thought about running a marathon and he said, “Yes, I actually have.  It takes a lot of discipline and you have to be so dedicated, especially training for Boston through the New England winter.  I have two sisters who have run Boston and will be running it again in 2014 so I’ll be on the sidelines cheering for them.  But I expect to run a marathon when my playing days are over!”

I am so proud to be the coach for Best Buddies, an organization dedicated to enhancing the lives of people with intellectual disabilities by providing opportunities for one-to-one friendships and integrated employment.  I look forward to having them join the Marathon Coalition again in 2014.  The 2014 Boston Marathon promises to be the best ever!

Best Buddies Boston

Comments
  1. Fred Grosso says:

    Rick,

    I think it was 2004 or 2005, I was watching the Boston Marathon just past mile 17, a little before the firehouse. The crowd was showering the usual Boston encouragement on the runners. I noticed a group of young women, about 20 yards away from me, especially cheering the young men runners spiritedly. After about fifteen minutes I was shocked to see this group of women excitedly running towards me. I stared in amazement as they approached and for some reason I turned. I looked up and standing right next to me was Tom Brady. I casually walked away while the young women swarmed Tom.

Leave a Reply

