Inspired Running

Posted: August 31, 2013 in Uncategorized

I enjoyed this morning’s run in Grafton.  I ran 10 miles on the new high school track.  I have run 50 miles and 62 miles on this track to raise funds for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society and The Latino Mental Health program at the Massachusetts School of Professional Psychology in memory of Dr. Cynthia Lucero.  Thanks to the support of so many amazing TNT runners, I was able to raise $25,000 for the Man & Woman Of The Year campaign sponsored by the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

Lori and I coached Cynthia for the 2000 San Diego Rock N’ Roll Marathon and the 2002 Boston Marathon.  She collapsed near Mile 22 of the Boston Marathon and later succumbed to hyponatremia.  She was one of the most remarkable people I ever met and continues to inspire me to give more and expect less.

I am planning to make a 100 mile attempt on this track in 2014 and will likely support several charities that have  been involved with the Marathon Coalition.

So many special runners and worthwhile causes are my greatest source of inspiration.

Leave a Reply

