Change Of Pace

Posted: October 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

I was reading PAVED (one of the most unique and inspirational bicycling magazines) last evening just before falling asleep and was inspired to break from my routine.  The article I was reading featured several riders embarking on a unique ride through Yellowstone National Park in April.

Yellowstone is one of my favorite flyfishing destinations so I was intrigued by their journey.  I have encountered snow in Yellowstone during the month of July so I knew their journey would involve a lot of ‘cross type riding.  I am now interested in taking a similar journey through Yellowstone in April, long before the throngs of RV’s filled with tourists clog the roads.  It might be the perfect journey at the conclusion of the Boston Marathon.

I suddenly felt the urge to be on my bike even though it was 10:00 p.m.  I came downstairs and invited Lori to join me on this abrupt ride through the night.  I pulled my Specialized mountain bike out of the basement and attached my NiteRider Lumina 650 headlight and comparable flashing red lights on the rear.  I pumped up the tires and was gone within 15 minutes.

It was certainly different riding at night, even though I have run and cycled this route hundreds of times.  I only encountered one person who was walking his dog.  I slowed my pace to comment on how wonderful the night was and how this was the perfect time to be outside enjoying the evening.  He readily agreed and wished me an enjoyable ride.

The only sound I heard was the constant humming of the Ritchey Megabite World Championship Series knobby tires and my occasional breathing on this extremely hilly course.  Most of the houses I passed had televisions on and I couldn’t help but think how inactive we have become, not that people should necessarily be out running and biking this late at night.  But I certainly don’t think it’s such a bad idea.

I love New England, particularly this time of year.  Just a few hours earlier I rode these same roads on my Harley and enjoyed the vibrant hues of red, orange and yellow of the changing leaves.  Now I could only imagine how they looked.  I approached the Grafton Town Green at 11:30 p.m. and could see the Gazebo and the lighted church steeples.  I felt like I was the only person on earth and it changed by perspective on so many things.

During the day, we are one of many.  But when you seek to do things somewhat differently, your experience and perspective can change dramatically.  It’s important to break from your routine and do something memorable, it will recharge your enthusiasm for living.

Leave a Reply

