So It Begins…

Posted: November 25, 2013 in Uncategorized

The Museum of Science Boston hosted the Marathon Coalition Kick-Off on Thursday evening.  Once again, we couldn’t have asked for more gracious and hospitable hosts.  I am extremely grateful for the relationship that I share with the MOS.

It was nice to be reunited with runners from the 2013 Marathon Coalition team, runners from previous Marathon Coalition teams and runners that I coached during my 12 year tenure with Team In Training.  It was equally exciting meeting all the new runners.  This is the largest team in our 6 year history and I’m confident we will raise over $1 million for the 15 charities comprising the Marathon Coalition.

The Marathon Coalition hosted the first training run of the 2014 Boston Marathon training season on Saturday.  I didn’t realize how much I needed to be back in this environment.

Photo courtesy of Sheree Dunwell.

Photo courtesy of Sheree Dunwell.

I wanted to be our initial training to be informative and inspirational for everyone.  As I stood before well over 100 runners, I had a million thoughts and feelings racing through me.  I observed the excitement of the new runners and I also witnessed so many runners from the 2013 Boston Marathon Team consoling one another.  I’ve never seen so many hugs, tears and gestures of comfort.

As soon as I arrived home I went straight to sleep.  I was emotionally spent…as though as I had just completed an intense 20 miler.  But we had only run 3 miles.  I had no idea how draining this initial kick-off was until I began falling asleep on the drive home.  I haven’t slept so soundly in  some time.  When I awoke, Lori, Macie and Rider were gone so I went for an 8 mile run.

This was one of the best runs I’ve had in quite some time.  I think I just needed to get over the first hurdle.  Now it’s time to heal, time to inspire, time to begin making a significant difference in the lives of so many.

Comments
  1. this will be the best year ever- thank you again Rick and it is an honor to be part of the TEAM once again- I am truly looking forward to it.. XOXO
    Terri

    • Terri,

      I completely agree. The kick-off and first training are great indicators of how meaningful and inspiration this training season will be. I’m looking forward to, once again, sharing this journey with you.

      Rick

  2. Laura says:

    I never thought running could be so spiritual and healing. What a gift!!! Thank you.

    • Hello Laura,

      It is great to have you back. I’ve embraced the power running has given me to heal and to explore a more meaningful path in life. It’s so much more than just running from point A to B.

      I look forward to coaching you to your most meaningful and inspirational marathon ever!

      Your Coach,

      Rick

  3. Chad Hauff says:

    Thanks for putting into words. I too felt something significant happened, but I kept thinking, “it was only 3 miles.” I was grateful that you took extra time to share so much: running form, stories, and emotions. The morning felt so much like coming home after a long absence.

    • Hello Chad,

      I also felt we shared something special on Saturday. I was trying to bridge some major gaps relative to emotions from April and providing insight and information for the newer running without alienating anyone. It is so nice to have you back on the TEAM. You’ll be a great resource for all your teammates.

      Rick

  4. Jenna says:

    Hi Coach Rick,
    I am a new runner this year and met you originally at the Kickoff event at the Museum of Science. I was also fortunate enough to be at this first team run. After everything you talked about, the motivation, the tips and especially all that is associated with the aftermath of last year’s race, I was incredibly moved and inspired. I went home and couldn’t talk about anything else the whole day and many days after. I realize how lucky I am to be given this opportunity to give back to charity and to be surrounded by so many amazing people. I can’t wait for our journey to continue over these upcoming months and look forward to learning and working with you.

    Jenna
    Girl Scouts of Eastern MA

    • Hello Jenna,

      I am so glad you’re having such a positive experience with the Girl Scouts of Eastern Massachusetts and the Marathon Coalition. This season definitely has an extremely special feel to it.

      It’s only going to get better going forward. I look forward to sharing this journey with you.

      Your Coach,

      Rick

Leave a Reply

