Transformational Running

Posted: January 28, 2014 in Uncategorized
Sharing my love and passion for running.

Sharing my love and passion for running.

One of the most enjoyable extensions of coaching large groups of runners for the Boston Marathon the past 18 years has been private coaching.  I had so many runners request individual coaching but I didn’t think I would have the time, but I finally relented and I’m so thankful that I did.

Yes, it’s extremely time consuming but the rewards are exponentially greater than the time and effort required.  It’s wonderful to connect with individual runners in a private setting and offer Transformational Running clinics.    The basis of this relationship is to assess their ability and establish realistic goals.  The ability to effectively connect those two deltas allows a runner to realize and maximize their potential.

These are the topics that provide the basis for my private coaching:

  • Developing proper and efficient running form
  • Proper shoe and clothing selection
  • Nutrition 101
  • Proper fueling
  • Gait Analysis
  • Avoiding injury
  • Injury prevention
  • Staying motivated and managing the demons of doubt
  • Simplifying your approach to training and racing
  • Feel based training
  • Establishing a mindful and purposeful approach to training and racing
  • Phase based training
  • Developing an effective race strategy
  • Maximizing performance on race day
  • Getting the greatest return on your investment of time and energy
  • Fostering a lifelong love and passion for running

More recently, I have been asked by several running stores to provide these clinics to a larger group of their customers.  It’s been wonderful to conduct several clinics at Miles To Go Sports in Sutton, MA and Greater Boston Running Company in Swampscott, MA.  Ironically, both stores are either owned or managed by runners I have coached for various marathons.

When I ran the Boston Marathon for the first time in 1979, I never imagined that I would be living here and coaching to this magnitude.  I never take it for granted…not for a moment.

It has been an honor and privilege to help thousands of runners realize their dream of running marathons throughout the world,  especially the Boston Marathon.

I look forward to sharing my 40 years of running and racing experience along with nearly 20 years of coaching with as many people as possible.

Runners are the most amazing and inspiring people I know and have ‘transformed’ me into a far greater coach and a much more appreciative and grateful person!

 

Comments
  1. Erin Gallo says:

    Your individual coaching is hugely appreciated!

  2. Erin,

    I am so grateful to be able to help you with your running. I know this year’s Boston Marathon will be the most meaningful marathon ever for you. I look forward to seeing you at Mile 15!

    Ric

Leave a Reply

