Day Of Reflection

Posted: April 15, 2015 in Uncategorized

On the second anniversary of the Boston Marathon bombings I am reminded of the importance of enjoying every moment of life.  This human spirit is so resilient and strong, particularly when it is tested.

I have been particularly reflective as the 119th Boston Marathon approaches and my 19th year as a charity running coach draws to a close.  The Boston Marathon has changed so much in the past two years.  I’ve witnessed a greater commitment by everyone, not only the runners, to celebrate all that the Boston Marathon represents.

The marathon is the culmination of months of difficult training in the worst New England winter in decades.  Runners have emerged from this challenging training season stronger, more determined and eager to celebrate their accomplishments.  They are physically and mentally stronger, more determined to live with greater purpose and more inspired to serve others.

As I stand at Mile 15 on Marathon Monday, I am blessed to experience the best of the human spirit.  I share thousands of extremely special moments with runners that I’ve coached the past two decades.  I am honored when they run into my arms and share how they are feeling.  I’m energized by the power of their embraces.  I’m inspired by their determination…it’s the most special day of the year!

On this special anniversary I am inspired by those that have emerged from this tragedy stronger and more determined to show the world that we are all far more capable of  accomplishing significant achievements than we realize.

Today is a tribute to the power of the human spirit!

Comments
  1. Rick Kaplar says:

    Coach Rick, can’t wait to see you at Mile 15 on Monday! You are truly an inspiration! -Rick

  2. Rick,

    Thank you so much for your comments. I’m looking forward to seeing you at Mile 15!

    Rick

Leave a Reply

